" />

MIVA Inducts Five to Hall of Fame

MIVA Inducts Five to Hall of Fame

ROMEOVILLE, Ill. - On Saturday, November 2, the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association inducted five former student-athletes to its Hall of Fame. Marv Zimmermann (George Williams), Ken Mattison (George Williams), Keith Thornburgh (Ball State), Jay Golsteyn (IPFW) and Victor Rivera (Lewis) make up the third MIVA Hall of Fame Class.

Zimmermann played for George Williams from 1962-65, taking home two MIVA regular-season championships and two tournament crowns. While at George Williams, the team placed 2nd in 1962, 3rd in 1963, and 5th in 1965 at the USVBA National Collegiate Tournament. In 1965, Zimmermann earned a place on the Second Team All-America.

Mattison played at George Williams from 1965-68, and earned a place on the All-MIVA First Team in 1966, 1967 and 1968. Mattison went on to serve as the Tournament Director for the 1975 USVBA National Championships. He also served as the Tournament Director for the 1992 USVBA National Championships, capping off his contributions to the volleyball community.

Thornburgh led the Ball State Cardinals to four MIVA regular-season and tournament titles during his playing days from 1964-67. Thornburgh was an All-MIVA First team selection in each of his final three seasons in Muncie.

Golsteyn played for IPFW from 1986 to 1989, earning two All-America selections in 1987 and 1989. As a former NCAA record holder for kills in a match with 44, Golsteyn was named the IPFW Male Athlete of the Year in 1989. Golsteyn was a four-year All-MIVA selection and the MIVA Player of the Year in 1987 and 1989. Under his leadership, the Mastodons won two regular season MIVA titles in 1986 and 1987.

Rivera was a three-time All-America selection during his playing tenure at Lewis from 1996-99. Rivera led the way to 1996 and 1998 MIVA titles and NCAA semifinal match berths. Rivera was a four-time All-MIVA first-team honoree and was the 1998 and 1999 MIVA Player of the Year. He was the 1998 MIVA Tournament Most Valuable Player, made the 1997 All-MIVA Tournament and was the 1996 MIVA Newcomer of the Year. He still holds multiple single-season and career records at Lewis.

The group was honored Lewis University, following exhibition matches between Lewis, McKendree and Purdue Fort Wayne.

The 2020 men's volleyball season begins on Friday, January 3, 2020.