" />

2019 MIVA Awards Announced

2019 MIVA Awards Announced

The Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association has announced the 2019 awards. As selected by the eight head coaches in the conference, Lewis setter Matt Yoshimoto has been named the MIVA Player of the Year. McKendree setter Ryan Serrano has been named the Freshman of the Year. Lewis' Dan Friend and McKendree's Nickie Sanlin were voted co-Coach of the Year.

The 2019 All–MIVA Teams and All–Freshman Team were also announced. All eight MIVA teams earned at-least one student-athlete on the All-MIVA First and Second Teams. Six schools are represented on the seven-member All-Freshman Team.

Yoshimoto guided the Flyers to a 13–1 record in MIVA play and a regular season title. The senior averaged 10.10 assists per set in league play, second best in the MIVA. His 61 aces on the season, and 30 in MIVA play, led the league.

Serrano helped a McKendree club picked prior to the season for seventh place earn fourth in the MIVA in 2019. He averaged 8.71 assists per set on the year ranked eighth in league play with 91 digs on the season.

Friend and Sanlin share the Coach of the Year title in 2019. This is Friend's second career award. He also won the honor in 2015. Sanlin takes home the honor for the first time in her career.

Player of the Year: Matt Yoshimoto (Lewis)
Freshman of the Year: Ryan Serrano (McKendree)
Coach of The Year: Dan Friend (Lewis) & Nickie Sanlin (McKendree)

2019 All–MIVA First Team
Matt Szews, Ball State – Jr. – OH
Ryan Coenen, Lewis – Jr. – OH
Tyler Mitchem, Lewis – So. – MB
Michael Simmons, Lewis – Sr. – L
Matt Yoshimoto, Lewis – Sr. – S
Collin Mahan, Loyola – Sr. – OH
Garrett Zolg, Loyola – So. – S
Wyatt Dimke, McKendree – So. – MB
Jake Hanes, Ohio State – So. – OPP
Blake Leeson, Ohio State – Sr. – MB
Michael Keegan, Purdue Fort Wayne – Sr. – S
Pelegrin Vargas, Purdue Fort Wayne – Jr. – OH

2019 All–MIVA Second Team
Parker Swartz, Ball State – Sr. – MB
Julian Moses, Lewis – Sr. – OH
TJ Murray, Lewis – Sr. – MB
Adam Brewster, Lindenwood – Sr. – S
Connor Hipelius, Lindenwood – Sr. – MB
Avery Aylsworth, Loyola – Sr. – L
Paul Narup, Loyola – Sr. – MB
Will Tischler, Loyola – Sr. – OH
Zach Schnittker, McKendree – Jr. – OPP
Ryan Serrano, McKendree – Fr. – S
Richie Diedrich, Purdue Fort Wayne – Jr. – MB
Omari Wheeler, Quincy – Jr. – OH

2019 All–Freshman Team
Kaleb Jenness, Ball State – OH
Diego Negron, Lindenwood – OH
Phil Swartz, Lindenwood – OH
Luke Denton, Loyola – RS
Ryan Serrano, McKendree – S
Ethan Talley, Ohio State – MB
Noam Hannoun, Quincy – L