'08-09 Rewind

'08-09 Rewind

The Ohio State men's volleyball team completed the 2009 season with a 16-11 overall record and a 9-1 mark in the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association. The Buckeyes won the MIVA regular season championship for the third consecutive year and have 21 titles overall. Ohio State won a second consecutive MIVA Tournament Championship and now has 12 overall. OSU received the MIVA automatic bid to the NCAA National Championship semifinals, losing to eventual champion UC Irvine, 0-3 (30-25, 30-25, 30-26). It was Ohio State's 16th appearance at the national championship event. The Buckeyes finished the season ranked 10th in the final Bison/American Volleyball Coaches Association Division I-II Men's Coaches Top 15 Poll and tied for eighth in the Molten-Volleyball Magazine Men's Top 15 Media Poll.


As a team, Ohio State is hitting .288 and is averaging 19.24 points, 15.02 kills and 13.99 assists per game. The Buckeyes average 1.15 aces, 9.83 digs and 3.07 blocks per game and have a .933 serve reception percentage. OSU opponents are hitting .230 and average 18.26 points, 14.29 kills and 13.28 assists per game. They are averaging 1.38 aces, 9.16 digs and 2.59 blocks per game and have a .954 serve reception percentage.

The Buckeyes are coached by Pete Hanson. Ohio State finished the 2009 season with a 16-11 overall record and won the Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association regular season title with a 9-1 record. Leading the Buckeyes in points per game is Ted Schoenfeldt with a 4.06 average. Robbie Klein ranks second at 3.96 with John Klanac third at 3.48. Schoenfeldt is the team leader in kills per game at 3.44. Klein, at 3.40, ranks second and Klanac is third at 2.84. In attack percentage, Kevin Heine has a team-high .454 average. Ben Spurlock ranks second at .429 with John Albertson third at .418. At setter, Steven Kehoe is averaging 12.69 assists per game. In aces per game, Klanac is the team leader at .24 with 18 aces. Schoenfeldt ranks second at .23 with 20 aces and Klein is third at .21 with 20. Defensively, Mik Berzins leads the squad with a 2.65 digs per game average. Kehoe ranks second at 2.06 with Schoenfeldt third at 1.36. Berzins is the team leader in serve reception percentage at .956. Klein ranks second at .951 with Klanac third at .940. At the net, Albertson has a team-high 1.37 blocks per game average with 18 solos and 71 assists. Heine, at 1.25, ranks second with eight solos and 87 assists. Kehoe is third at .84 with 14 solos and 67 assists.

With the 3-0 victory over IPFW, Ohio State won the outright Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association regular season championship. It is OSU's third consecutive championship and 21st overall. It marks the 12th title for head coach Pete Hanson.

Ohio State won a second consecutive MIVA Tournament championship with a 3-0 (30-22, 30-19, 30-25) win over Loyola-Chicago in the semifinals and a 3-0 (30-25, 32-30, 30-19) victory over Ball State in the championship match. OSU's Kevin Heine was named the most valuable player and along with John Klanac and Ted Schoenfeldt were named to the all-tournament team.

He was named to the MIVA All-Conference first team after leading the Buckeyes to a 16-11 overall record and a 9-1 mark in the MIVA. Kehoe averaged 12.69 assists, 2.06 digs, .84 blocks and .21 aces per game. He was the MIVA statistical champion in assists per conference game with a 12.75 average. He finished the season ranked 10th nationally at 12.69 assists per game.

Kehoe earned MIVA Academic All-Conference and Academic All-Big Ten honors and was named an Ohio State Scholar-Athlete. He ranks seventh in Ohio State career assists with 1,303 and is seventh in career assists per game at 9.18.


Ohio State men's volleyball setter Steven Kehoe was named a second-team Volleyball Magazine All-American in the July issue of the magazine. The 6-4 Kehoe directed the Buckeyes to their third consecutive Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association regular season championship, the MIVA Tournament Championship and a berth in the semifinals of the NCAA Championship. By a vote of the MIVA conference coaches, Ohio State's Pete Hanson has been named the 2009 MIVA Coach of the Year. It marks the third consecutive season that Hanson has received the honor. He has won the honor nine times in the following years: 1988, 1993, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004, 2007, 2008 and 2009. Hanson coached the Buckeyes to a 9-1 conference record to win the regular season title for the third consecutive year. He has won 12 regular season championships and seven MIVA tournaments.