2010 MIVA All-Conference Team Announced

2010 MIVA All-Conference Team Announced

COLUMBUS, Ohio - The Midwestern Intercollegiate Volleyball Association has announced its all-conference selections for the 2010 season. By a vote of the seven conference coaches, Ohio State’s Steven Kehoe (S, RS-Jr., North Bend, Ohio) has been named the MIVA Player of the Year and Lewis’ Ian Karbiener (OPP, Fr., Orlando, Fla.) has been named the MIVA Freshman of the Year. Loyola-Chicago’s Shane Davis and Ohio State’s Pete Hanson were named MIVA Co-Coaches of the Year to complete the major awards.

Kehoe guided Ohio State to an 11-1 conference record and its fourth consecutive regular season MIVA championship.  He averaged 13.59 assists per game in conference play to rank second in the league. Kehoe averaged 1.16 points, .34 kills, .34 aces, 1.85 digs and .76 blocks per game while hitting .250 in conference play.

Karbiener ranked sixth in points (4.26), sixth in kills (3.74), eighth in aces (.33), and tied for 19th in dig (1.59) per game in conference play. He averaged .36 blocks per game while hitting .262.

Davis directed the Ramblers to a second place (10-2) finish in the conference this season. This marks the third time he has been honored as coach of the year. Hanson has won or shared Coach of the Year honors the last four years and ten times overall.

Ball State, Lewis, Loyola-Chicago and Ohio State each placed four players on the all-conference team. IPFW and Grand Canyon added two players each. Ball State’s Billy Ebel (L, Sr., Lenexa, Ka.) and J.D. Gasparovic (MA, Jr., St. Louis, Mo.) were named to the first team with Anders Nelson (MA, RS-Jr., St. Croix Falls, Wis.) and Ethan Pheister  (S, Sr., Shorewood, Wis.) receiving second team honors. Mike Iandolo (S, Sr., Orlando, Fla.) of Lewis was named to the first team with Matt Gallik (MB, RS-So., Evergreen Park, Ill.), Karbiener and Nathan Klaas (OH, Sr., Orland Park, Ill.) named to the second team. Loyola-Chicago’s Kris Berzins (OH, Sr., Brinklow, Md.), Mike Bunting (OH, So., Wyomissing, Pa.) and Mike Hutz (S, RS-Jr., Whitefish Bay, Wis.) were first team selections with Domenic Dewaele (OPP, So., Hamilton, Ont. Canada) named to the second team. Joining Ohio State’s Kehoe on the first team were John Klanac (OH, RS-Jr., Orchard Park, N.Y.) and Shawn Sangrey (OPP, So., Columbia, Pa.). Buckeye Kevin Heine (MH, RS-Jr., St. Louis, Mo.) was named to the second team. IPFW’s Darryl Shank (OH, Jr., London, Ont., Canada) earned first team honors with Oliver Kook (MB, Sr., Hamburg, Germany) named to the second team. Grand Canyon’s Trent Bruns (L, Fr., Mission Viejo, Calif.) and Brock Hutchins (OH, So., Gilbert, Ariz.) were second team selections.

The MIVA Tournament opens this weekend with three quarterfinal matches. Top seeded Ohio State received a bye in the quarterfinals. No. 2 seed Loyola-Chicago will host No. 7 seed Grand Canyon, No. 3 seed Lewis will host No. 6 seed Quincy and No. 4 seed Ball State will host No. 5 seed IPFW in the Saturday quarterfinals. The winners advance to the semifinals Wednesday, April 28. Ohio State will host one semifinal playing either Ball State or IPFW. The other two quarterfinal winners will play at the site of the higher remaining seed. The tournament championship match will be played Saturday, May 1. The highest remaining seed will host the match.